The natives have been threatened..

July 4 1919
Turf Club, Cairo

My dear old Elsie
I am still in Cairo but hope to return to the Regiment two days hence. It is very nice here and so luxurious but frightfully expensive!

I was under cross examination from a Gippy barrister for two days – it was very fatiguing and I felt more like hitting him than answering his damn silly questions!

The Court has already found out that natives have been bribed and threatened with death if they dont appear to give false evidence – the Nationalist Party here are really the scum of the Earth!! My dear lve had my photo taken as you wished  it was dreadful ew-stanordeal – I will send it along when ready – I hope the parcel from Alex has rolled up.

Glad you enjoyed the summer weather – I remember how burnt you used to get with a white mark on your cheek where your bonnet strings used to come. It is good news too that Mrs. Brown and the new baby are getting on well – I’m sure you must be having a very busy time.

No more news yet of the Cadre going home but I will send you a cable when I know something definite.

I get many cheery letters from the old Pater still – his last was full of the Whitsun gatherings at the School.

Karl is in hospital again – I have been to see him two or three times – I wish they would invalid him home for he will never be fit in this country1.

Many thanks dear girl for your last letters and Tatlers – Eve’s letters are better than ever and I love her descriptions of the ladies summer fashions!!

Best love from Stan

1 Karl returned home in November 1919.

Next letter 19th July 2019

These letters have been published as
Engaged in War – the Letters of Stanley Goodland 1914 – 1919
Twiga Books, ISBN 978 09528625 2 9 £9.50 + p&p
Available from Amazon
https://www.facebook.com/EngagedInWar/

Leave a comment